C’est la Vie!

Cheesin at the Palace

Guess the room in the Palace of Versailles…it’s kinda a big deal.

Ahhh, Paris at last. I don’t think you could go wrong in how you choose to spend your time in this city? There is so much to do and everything is wonderful. The food, the atmosphere, the historical sites, the people walking about and talking…I’m one of those terrible people who has a legitimate staring problem and I could just sit at a bench in any park here, with some food and drink handy of course, and stare ALL DAY at the people going about their lives around me. I’ve found that wearing sunglasses and pretending to be occupied with something (a sandwich, reading a book, even just holding your phone somewhat in front of you) is the least creepy way of doing this. You’re welcome fellow stare…ers?

I have been blessed the past few days to be joined by my lovely grandmother and aunt. They will be with me the next week and a half as we take on France together and sight see the crap out of it all. Since I have been to Paris before, we are picking and choosing what interests everyone the most in our short time here and visiting what we can. We have been busy figuring out the transit system (not terrible with the help of Apple maps, THANK YOU LORD FOR SMARTPHONES) and visiting different museums. So far we have been to the Musee de l’Orangerie (which happened to have a strike going on so we didn’t have access to seeing everything there which was a bummer), the Tuileries Garden, Conciergerie, and the Palace of Versailles. Seemingly so little yet also so much in a few days. I’m personally not so much a history buff or someone who has a strong appreciation for art, but wow are these places incredible to visit. The beauty of the architecture and age is incredible. Also side note/future reference warning- it is impossible to get a picture of yourself and any ceiling, and have it look good.

Don’t even get me started on the food we’ve had. I refuse to go a day without creme brûlée. I have had the best creme brûlée here, surprise surprise. And until the day I leave France, I don’t plan on going a day without it. I keep on forgetting to get any pictures of it because it’s gone within seconds. I also tried beef tartare for the first time. That is pure raw beef. I’m talking red meat, cow is still moo-ing, ground up- beef. It was actually phenomenal and I plan on having it again even though raw foods make me nervous. Then of course we’ve had wines and cheeses and croissants. I’m on the fast track to my death bed if I continue eating the way I have been. I’m okay with it.

Perks to my aunt and grandmother joining me on this trip: More financially stable than I and very generous in feeding me at all times of the day, my own personal historical tour guides, and of course access to seating on public transportation almost always?! No one gives up their seat for me on a full train but whoaaa, all of a sudden they see them and BAM, a couple open seats. I don’t know what it is. Oh and obviously they are just fantastic human beings.

Downside to them joining me: Now there has to be enough food for 3 people…I think they are just realizing how much I eat (lunch ratio has typically been, 1 sandwich for my aunt, 1 for my gram, and then 2.5 for Chelsea plus a dessert and a snack to go). In addition to that, there are now THREE ladies for the single French guys to look at, instead of just one. Life is hard but somehow you just have to keep on going and stay positive.

Tomorrow, we head off to rent a car and explore western France. We will return to Paris for the end of our trip to do some more typical sight seeing, but until then, we’re heading out to the country side to enjoy a more laid back atmosphere.

Watch out France, you’ve got three single ladies comin’ at ya hard and fast!!

 

Leave a comment